ATLANTA -- Just as governors in North Carolina and Florida have done, Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal, on Tuesday afternoon, issued an executive order placing 13 downstate and coastal counties under a State of Emergency ahead of the anticipated arrival of Hurricane Matthew.

The State of Emergency is in effect for Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh and Wayne counties, beginning Wednesday, and running through next Wednesday, October 12.

The order directs the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEM-HSA) to activate the Georgia Emergency Operations Plan.

GA Gov. State of Emergency - Hurricane Matthew - Oct 4 2016