Acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Matthew, Governor Nathan Deal issued a mandatory evacuation for areas east of I-95 for six coastal counties. Voluntary evacuations, issued yesterday, remain in effect for residents west of I-95 in those counties.

The six coastal counties are as follows:

Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden. That affects more than 500,000 Georgia residents.

“The National Hurricane Center predicts Hurricane Matthew will intensify as it moves from the Bahamas up the Florida Coast,” said Deal in a news release. “As a result, I am now ordering a mandatory evacuation for areas east of Interstate-95. I also encourage the voluntary evacuation of residents in low-lying, coastal areas west of I-95. Shelters are opening now in these areas. To assist Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMHSA) Director Jim Butterworth in coordinating and implementing traffic flow preparations, I’ve activated 45 members of the Georgia National Guard. They will assist state and local public safety and transportation officials. I urge Georgians in the affected areas to remain calm, be prepared and make informed, responsible decisions as we continue to monitor Hurricane Matthew’s path.”

RELATED: I-16 only flowing west from Savannah to Dublin

To locate a facility, call your local authorities, download the Ready Georgia app or visit GEMHSA’s website. A map of shelters is also available on the American Red Cross website. An evacuation map and a shelter map are attached.