WASHINGTON -- President Barack Obama announced on Thursday that he is enacting a declaration of emergency for several Georgia counties as officials prepare for Hurricane Matthew to make landfall in the coming days.

The declaration allows federal aid to supplement state and local response efforts and is retroactive to Oct. 4.

The action also authorizes the Department of Homeland Security and Federal Emergency Management Agency to coordinate disaster relief efforts in the affected areas.

Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Ware and Wayne counties are each named in the declaration.

The order gives FEMA authorization to "identify, mobilize and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency."