ATLANTA (AP) -- The Senate has approved a bill that would ban texting and talking on a cell phone while driving for teens.
Under the bill approved 47-0, the driver's license of any teen who causes an accident while using a cell phone to talk or text would be suspended for 90 days or until the offender turns 18 for a first offense.
The offender would also be fined $150, which would be doubled if a traffic accident occurs.
Colorado, Louisiana, New York, Virginia and Washington are among the other states that ban text messages for all drivers. Nine states ban text messaging for teen drivers.
(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)