New Candidates Enter Macon-Bibb Races

6:52 PM, Jul 24, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Qualifying ended Wednesday for the Macon-Bibb consolidated elections. Twenty five people will be on the ballot for the nine commission seats.

Robins Air Force Base employee Chhor Chav entered the race for the District 6 seat.

Chav moved to Macon from California six years ago and says he wants to help grow the place he and his family now call home.

"Everyone is moving out. We're losing population every year. Because why? There's no jobs here, the crime rate is really bad, and everyone knows about our board of education. And you know what? I want to be able to change that," says Chav.

The sheet metal mechanic and real estate business owner says one of his biggest concerns is lowering the crime rate. Chav says part of the solution should include higher pay for officers.

Three others are also vying for the District 6 seat, Robert Abbott, Macon councilman Ed DeFore, and Adah Roberts.

Before qualifying ended Wednesday, another candidate entered the District 1 race. That's Harold Young. 13WMAZ could not reach him for comment.

Here is a list of all of the mayor and commission candidates.

Joe Allen
Charlie Bishop
David Cousino
C. Jack Ellis
Sam Hart
Robert Reichert

District 1:
Gary Bechtel
Harold Young

District 2:
Paul Bronson
Henry Ficklin
Larry Schlesinger

District 3:
Elaine Lucas
Terry Tripp

District 4:
Mallory Jones
Beverly Olson
Theron Ussery

District 5:
Bert Bivins
Jon Carson
Louis Frank Tompkins

District 6:
Robert Abbott
Chhor Chav
Ed DeFore
Adah Roberts

District 7:
Eric Arnold
Barry Bell
Scotty Shepherd

District 8:
Regina Davis
Charles Jones
Virgil Watkins

District 9:
Al Tillman
James Timley

Most Watched Videos