Ficklin to Seek Recount in Bibb Commission Race

11:58 PM, Oct 15, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +


Henry Ficklin says he will ask for a recount in the Bibb County Commission race that he apparently lost by 27 votes.

Preliminary election results show that Larry Schlesinger won 50.4 percent of the District 2 vote, Ficklin 49.6 percent.

Because those results show Ficklin losing by less than 1 percent, he has the right to ask for an automatic recount.

He told 13WMAZ's Anita Oh Tuesday night that he would do so, calling it "only natural."

He said there were possible irregularities in the race, such as people allegedly being unable to vote in the race.

Three Macon city council members and a political newcomer led the races for four seats on the new Bibb County commission.

Bibb County voters picked the final four members of their new county commission tonight.

These races were on the ballot today

In District 2, Henry Ficklin and Larry Schlesinger. The district covers parts of east Macon and downtown.

District 4, Mallory Jones and Beverly Olson. That's a North Bibb district.

Jones had 59 percent, Olson 41.

Although September's third-place finisher endorsed Olson, Jones said he was able to connect with voters by focusing on knocking door to door.

District 6, Ed DeFore and Adah Roberts. The district is in West Bibb County. DeFore won 61 percent.

DeFore has served on the Macon City Council for a record-breaking 42 years.  He says over time, his name has become a brand voters car trust.

"The people keep re-electing me because they request something and I go straight to city hall," he says. "The word around town is if you need help, call Ed DeFore."

And in District 8, it's Virgil Watkins and Charles Jones. That area runs from the downtown to south and west Macon.

Watkins had 53 percent, Jones 47 percent.

These members were already elected to the commission on Sept. 17:

District 1: Gary Bechtel

District 3: Elaine Lucas

District 5: Bert Bivins

District 7: Scotty Shepherd

District 9: Al Tillman

The county commission for the new consolidated Bibb County takes office next January.


Most Watched Videos