Houston County teacher inducted into Hall of Fame

Houston County teacher to be inducted into Hall of Fame

For eight years, the Houston County Board of Education has inducted extraordinary teachers into their Teacher Hall of Fame. This year, four more teachers will join the ranks.

13WMAZ reporter Madison Cavalchire met one of this year's honorees, Mrs. Brenda Littlefield.

Mrs. Littlefield has walked through the doors of Northside High School in Warner Robins for 39 years. Littlefield says she taught English, Journalism, Drama, and Humanities courses at the school. 

She retired from teaching in 2009, but nowadays, she has a reserved seat at Northside's theater. She may not be at the front of the classroom anymore, but she's always backstage at every Northside show, helping with costumes.

"When I made the dress that she wore in that production, they realized I could sew, and I've been doing it ever since," Littlefield says. "It's been 30 years."

Students who know her best, say they're not surprised Houston County is inducting her into the Teacher Hall of Fame. Senior Melanie Wood says she met Mrs. Littlefield before she started ninth grade at Northside High School.

"I've never met anyone who says they don't like Mrs. Littlefield," Wood says. "Everyone loves her. She's super sweet. She's more than just the costume lady. She's like a mom to us."

Assistant Principal, Scott Wynn, says he had Littlefield as a teacher when he attended Northside.

"But even after that, when I was in college, I would bring papers back and let her edit them and help me out," Wynn says. "She's always just been somebody I know I can depend on."

Mrs. Littlefield may be in the spotlight here at Northside, but she says, she's humbled to be recognized by Houston's Teacher Hall of Fame.

"It makes me feel wonderful and it is such an honor to be among that group of people who are recognized every year," Littlefield says.

Nominees for the Hall of Fame must have taught in Houston County Schools for at least 20 years.

Three other teachers will be honored at Sunday's ceremony at the Houston County Board of Education's central office at 2:30 p.m. Those teachers are Debbie Dean, E.C. Warnock, and Elijah Weatherspoon.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment