State of emergency declared for 56 Georgia counties

Pat's Midday Tropics Update

ATLANTA (AP) - Gov. Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency for 56 counties as now upgraded Hurricane Hermine heads toward Florida's Gulf Coast.

The alert takes effect at noon on Thursday and runs through midnight on Saturday. Deal says severe weather related to the storm is expected in Georgia through Saturday. The included counties are in parts of south, central and coastal Georgia.

The Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency said Wednesday that the storm's greatest effect on Georgia could be heavy rainfall.

RELATED: Tropical Storm Hermine updates

Director Jim Butterworth said the storm could bring flooding, tornadoes and power outages even if it does not make landfall in Georgia.

The central Georgia counties under the emergency are Dodge, Johnson, Laurens, Telfair, Treutlen, Wheeler and Wilcox.

Other counties are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan,  Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Grady, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Lanier, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Seminole, Tattnall, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Turner, Ware, Wayne, and Worth counties.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)




To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment