Rule leads Mercer to first conference championship

BRASELTON, Ga. – Mercer captured its first-ever Atlantic Sun Men's Golf Championship with a team final round, 293, led by Trey Rule's one-under-par performance (215) for 54 holes.

Rule becomes the third Mercer golfer to win A-Sun Championship Medalist honors and first since 1993, while also becoming the 21st player in A-Sun history to land medalist honors and lead his team to the conference title.

The first-place finish is the highest for Mercer since taking second place in 1993 as the Bears posted three top-ten individual finishers. Rule was joined by James Beale (T2nd; +2) and Sean Smothers (T9th; +5).

The Bears finished ahead of runner-up Kennesaw State by six strokes, while ETSU claimed third place with a combined score of 884; four strokes behind KSU. The Owls' Austin Vick and Teremoana Beaucousin tied Mercer's Beale for second place to land on the All-Tournament Team.

ETSU's Adrian Meronk and Rhys Pugh tied for fifth place as the Buccaneers finished in fourth place as a team. The duo completed their 54 holes at three-over-par for ETSU's third-straight top-three finish at the A-Sun Championship. Two-time defending champions, North Florida landed in fourth place at 895 for the championship. UNF's Taylor Hancock tied for seventh place just ahead of his teammate Joey Petronio in a tie for ninth.

Lipscomb finished in a program-best fifth position with two student-athletes in the top-20 of the field; Caston Roberts and Stoney Crouch, while Jacksonville followed the Bisons in sixth place with a team total of 917 ahead of USC Upstate in seventh (923). Stetson, Northern Kentucky and FGCU finished up the field.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment