Mercer second-year men's lacrosse head coach Kyle Hannan captured Atlantic Sun Coach of the Year honors as the league announced its postseason awards on Wednesday. Four players were also honored as the Bears landed one first team selection, two second team spots and an All-Freshman team recognition.

Senior Cole Branch earned one of 12 spots on the All-Conference first team while senior Zack Ward, sophomore Chris Baxa and freshman Colin Massa landed second team spots. Massa was also awarded a spot on the league's All-Freshman team.

Hannan guided Mercer to a 7-6 overall record and 4-1 mark in league play during the regular season, securing a share of the conference's regular season championship at the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Atlantic Sun Tournament. The team's seven wins are a program single-season record and featured a streak of four-straight victories from March 15-30.

Hannan joins Bob Hoffman (men's basketball) and Steve Bradley (men's golf) as Mercer coaches to take A-Sun Coach of the Year honors in 2013-14.

Mercer plays Richmond Thursday night at 7 in the opening round of the A-Sun Tournament.

Read or Share this story: