x
Breaking News
More () »

More than 8,000 citations issued last year in Georgia for Hands-Free Law

The Bibb County Sheriff's Office issued more than 100 citations last year, after the law went into effect in July.

It's been six months since the Hands-Free Law went into effect across the state.

Since July, state law enforcement says they've handed out thousands of tickets.

The Bibb County Sheriff's office says people should know by now to keep their cell phones out of their hands while driving, but sometimes bad habits are hard are hard to break.

Everyday, cars race up and down I-75, and no matter what day it is, you can expect to see drivers on their phone.

"I'm not sure if it is working, but I think it is a good law," Tony Guthrie said. 

While it's illegal to hold your cell phone while driving, Guthrie says many people do not follow the law.

RELATED: Your guide to the hands-free driving law

"I'm watching where their car is on the road, and they are just going all over the road," Guthrie said.

The Georgia Department of Public Safety says they issued 8,306 citations for violating the Hands-Free Law between July 1st and the end of 2018. 

"Whether they are taking pictures, or trying to video the crash when you go by," said Lieutenant Scott Davis with the Bibb County Sheriff's Office.

Closer to home, Davis says they've issued 111 citations from July to December 2018 in the county.

"We've written and sent multiple cases to court," Davis said. 

Under the law, your first offense can cost you $50 and one point against your license, which is why Davis is asking you to think twice about using your phone.

"A stop sign comes quickly, a pedestrian comes off the sidewalk quickly, your reaction time is not going to be as quick as if your eyes were forward, hands on the wheel, paying attention to what you are doing," Davis said. 

Davis says he feels the law is working, but there's always room for improvement.

"Voluntary compliance, that would be the best thing, education, everything that is put on the media, it is a well-known law now," Davis said. 

Guthrie agrees and says it's simple to follow the law.

"I would say buy some earphones or just Bluetooth it," Guthrie said. 

If you get caught being on your phone three times, you can be charged up to $150 plus get three points on your license. 

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out