Bibb County Schools superintendent Curtis Jones Jr. is now Georgia's top superintendent.

Jones received the title of 2019 Georgia Superintendent of the Year at the Georgia School Boards Association's annual conference in Atlanta on Friday.

Nominations are submitted by local school boards, business organizations and colleagues throughout the state.

From there, four finalists were named in October: Jones with Bibb Schools, Samantha Fuhrey with Newton County Schools, Michael Duncan with Pike County Schools, and Jeff Bearden with Forsyth County Schools.

In February, Jones will compete for the title of National Superintendent of the Year at a conference in Los Angeles, California.

“I am thankful and humbled by this recognition. I also know that this selection is because of the great work that teachers, principals and students are doing in the classrooms every day. It is because of the hard work that the senior cabinet and central office do to support school every day. And it is because of what parents and the community have done to support our efforts to increase reading proficiency, improve discipline, and make our schools safe, secure and fun places to be,” said Jones.

13WMAZ reporter Wanya Reese also received an award at the conference for his reporting on Dublin City Schools.